#resound ~ December 7, 2011: Achievement Unlocked

Photo
Achievement Unlocked: What goal did you set for yourself and achieve this year? Did you achieve something you didn’t think you could? Did you win an award? Did you set a record?

In 2010 I set a goal to run a marathon before I turned 30 and I did just that. After the marathon though the post race blues took over. I ran here and there but before I knew it training for LA Marathon 2011 and the weight was back on. So my goal for 2011 was to run the marathon again. After all I am now a “Stadium to the Sea” Legacy runner. I also vowed not to fall of the horse once the race was complete so before training was even done I signed up for my first triathlon.

It was probably the best decision I’ve ever made in my life. I achieved my goal of running the marathon. I felt a lot better about my run and although it was still not easy I knew why and am aware what I have to do to improve on that. Training then began for the triathlon, after the first week I knew it was not going to be a boring summer at all.

I didn’t set any world records or even Majors records and I’m sure I’m somewhere in the middle of the pack but for me it was records. My new “PR’s” and new found knowledge that fitness like life is fleeting and that I have to keep kicking butt and taking names. After both those races were done, I ran my first Spartan Race, making it a trifecta of races I never thought I would do just about 2 years ago.

So here are my goals for 2012. As I type this I’ve already registered for 3 separate races, Socal Super Spartan in January (28th). The Los Angeles Marathon for March (18th). The Socal Ragner Relay April (20-21). I will also repeat the Malibu Triathlon and of course running against my times. No better competition than myself. I’m excited about the Spartan Race in Malibu in November (10th) that falls on the birthday of my beloved Corps.

Wow, as I’m typing all this I’m loving how busy and committed I need to stay to make for a successful 2012. A whole lot of swimming/biking/ & of course running. Let the record also show that I want to qualify to run the Boston Marathon before I turn 35. Think I’ll make it?

Leave a Reply

