#resound11 ~ December 13, 2011: Best Gift

Img_1431

Best Gift: What was the best gift you gave yourself this year? Did you buy big, fluffy towels? Did you have a massage on a day when you really needed it? Did you forgive someone and give yourself the freedom from that grudge?

As I stated on day one of this Resound11 this year was particularly difficult because of an array of reasons. Financially there wasn’t a lot of extra money for stuff other than essential needs. After a few less than ideal choices early on in the year I had to stick to a need or want list. If we’re basing this post on sheer $ amount. I’d have to say the most extravagant purchase this year was my iPad 2. 

In my opinion it has paid for itself time and time again because other than the iPhone (purchased in 2010) I don’t think there is anything I use more. I’ve read about a dozen books on it. I’ve used it to create content as well as the main source of news and various other media I consume. So as much as I absolutely love and drool over my iPad and the thought of upgrading said iPad. It’s not my best gift. 

The best gift is that moment(s) when I’ve laced up a new pair of running shoes and headed out the door. It truly does not compare to buying goggles or the wetsuit that got me through the swim. Or cycling shoes for the many miles I logged on the shiny road bike. Definitely there is something special about lacing up shoes for the first time and the feeling of running on a cloud. That feeling is special even after the miles have left them beat up and tired looking. 

I’ve also been able to share that gift with my family. Both my wife and son experienced that feeling (new running shoes) in 2011. I think I’ll call it a family tradition, to happen at least two times a year.  

Leave a Reply

