#resound11 ~ December 14, 2011: Home is…

Home is: When did you feel most at home this year: in your life, in your space, in your career, in your skin? What factors make that situation feel like home? Do certain comforts make your space feel like home? Does being with certain people make you feel complete? Is there an activity in which you excel that makes you feel like you’re doing what you were meant to do?

This is your life. Where do you live? Where is home?

If I answered this a few years back the only possible answer would have been “home is where the Marine Corps need me”. Sadly that was not always by my family’s side. 

In 2011, home is in the San Fernando Valley. If I was looking at just the location I’d be the first to admit that we’re not talking 5 star accomodations here. It’s a simple 1 bedroom apartment. We have though made it a home. 

At the end of the day (or year) home will always be where my family is. I’ve come to really appreciate my quiet nights at home with my wife and son. My days start early, either heading out for a run or just getting my son ready for school. Besides that no matter where my day or our day takes us at the end we’re all together before saying good night. 

Now some may argue that Luther sang it best but I remember listening to this version all those many years ago and wondering how life would be when I no longer was required to be away from my family for weeks or months on end.

So I hope you enjoyed some Elliot Yamin who in my opinion should have won.

Leave a Reply

