Breakfast Or Lunch?

P554

I hate going to sleep (early) before making to the next day, so for the most part an early dinner doesn’t really work for me. By these standards alone you figure I’d be a brunch person because one would assume I’d be in bed until late and well past breakfast hours. I’m sure eventually my body will thank me (I’m laughing sarcastically), but for now I’m up with the rising sun and on most days even before that ray of light.

So I’m hungry the moment I rise. Usually I prefer to fit in a run or a work out but definitely getting something in the tank is paramount. So with my son rising so late today I was starving. It was a day off other than my daily push ups and pull ups. A resolution of sorts thrown on top of my already busy cardio routine. I didn’t have much to do except read. “With The Old Breed” is an incredible read.

Finally he was up and lets just say I couldn’t have been happier. If you ever have the pleasure to be a guest in our home you’ll see there is absolutely nothing sweeter than the treasure that is Kalel especially in those first waking moments. “Good morning daddy” is music to my ears. Yes the day is young and I’m certain he will get my blood boiling once or more through out the day hit in that instant it magic. This time made even sweeter by the thoughts and smells I could already imagine as I’d been planning brunch for a couple of hours by now.

I made pancakes while getting the sausage ready in the oven. Once I was through carefully making each pancake the same size and thickness I whisked the eggs and got some toast ready. A process that I’m proud to say I have down to a science so neither the pancakes or eggs get cold. I served both a glass of OJ and apple juice (does anybody just say AJ, they should). I also had a small cup of coffee as I’m not trying to dehydrate too far the day before a long run.

Kalel absolutely lights up at the sight of the feast in front of him. We sat in front of the television and we discussed how it’d be a while before I made breakfast like this again because he was headed back to school come Monday. He just said he already knew but that it was OK because he loves it when I do. So overall I was glad to wait for brunch even though my preference leans toward breakfast. We enjoyed our meal and then finished off the last of the homework right on schedule. It was a nice winter break.

As I look at our spread and realize what time it I’m starting to get pretty hungry. Worse when I realize that since I’m running in the AM. I’m looking at another day of brunch as opposed to breakfast. Another reason still why I think sleep is over rated.

Leave a Reply

