#projectreflect12 ~ December 9, 2012: Happy Days

Img_0780

December 9: Happy Days

Sometimes, there is just one day out of 365 that is just so amazing, that you’re just blissfully *happy*, even when things don’t go your way. Has there been a day this year that sticks out in your mind, where you’ve just been so happy that you had to shout it from the rooftops? What happened? What made that day better than any other day in 2012?

___

I had many happy days this year. None as happy as I felt the day before the marathon. The Los Angeles Marathon is still my baby as it comes to races. It was my first marathon. The one I grew up reading about. This year was the 3rd time I was running the 26.2 miles that makes it’s way from “stadium to the sea”. 

This year though I was running it with my wife. Since the previous November we’d been training diligently and it was about to pay off. Kalel came with the both of to the expo this time. The first year we all came together but he found only one name on the vehicle. The second year it was actually just him and I and mommy at work. So to have her there and picking up a bib of her own was incredible.

We completed the show of love for our son by making our race bibs match with the corresponding Kalel’s dad, and Kalel’s mom. They were a hit at the expo as well as the following day as we covered the marathon distance. Which by the way one might think is the happiest day. Not by far for me. What was amazing to me was the time spent together with my wife. We got closer than we’d been in quite some time.

Leave a Reply

