#projectreflect12 ~ December 11, 2012: Bookworm

http://youtu.be/zZ0CTcU0Fd0

The-art-of-racing-in-the-rain

December 11: Bookworm

Did you read a book this year that changed your life? What was it? What was it about? Would you recommend it to other people? Additionally, did you read a book that was absolutely terrible and left you wondering why the heck you read it?

___

I read quite a few books this year. I did not quite make my goal of 24 books but more than doubled the number of books I read in 2011. I’m actually only five books short of my goal and by end of year I should be done with my current read “No Easy Day” I guess I could try and sneak in an extra four books. Yet that’s not how or why I read.

I read to escape. I travel along side the characters in my books. I feel their pain and their happiness. I am really moved or disgusted depending on the tone or direction the author wants to take me in. I try and imagine how someone might feel as they read words I’ve so meticulously picked to tell my story. It really is an experience for me and so my goal of 24 books was a bit ambitious but more of a reminder to read, always.

Out the 20 books I lived this year the one that really was quite special was “The Art of Racing in the Rain”. I have to admit that with the title I expected a fast paced book and turns and crashes and any other pun you might imagine. It did take a little while to get going. In fact I began reading this book at the beginning of the year. I then misplaced it for months before getting back to it. I actually only went to finish it because I hate leaving books halfway through. (why I’ve read a lot of crappy books along with the gems) I’m looking at you Nicholas Sparks. 

I came back to it and realized as the main character in the book had mentioned “only those who are ready” I guess when I didn’t fine the book until I was ready to read what old Enzo had to say. Enzo is a dog, only he is/was so much more than that. I’d say this book is about perspective and life and how one life affects so many. It also made me think about how difficult communication can be between people not just pets. Whether it’s an age gap or gender gap. All that is lost between folks when communication is non existent. 

This was one of the many books I’ve turned the last page feeling like I’ve been given knowledge beyond what I deserved and feel helpless when those around me are just going about their business. I want to share and how could they ever understand. It took so long for me to understand. Months because I almost walked away from a great book. I wonder what I what I would be missing had I never finished reading it. 

Have any of you read it? What are your thoughts? Will you read it? Any books you’re certain I should read. I’m always, always game for book recommendations.

 

Leave a Reply

