#projectreflect12 ~ December 13, 2012: Loss

December 13: Loss

We’ve all experienced loss at some point in our lives, whether it was the loss of a loved one or a family pet, or maybe you lost something that was deeply important to you that you can’t get back. Did you experience loss in 2012? What was it, and how did it affect you emotionally?

___

Dear Grandma, 

I miss you! I've been thinking a lot about you these last couple of weeks as I reflect on my year. A few days ago I wrote about how awful I felt at my behavior those last couple of days. I am so sorry and I know I will for the rest of my life live with those decisions. I find myself finding solace in the fact that in turn I will also never be allowed to forget you.

I've discussed your passing with many friends. Some that knew of you and some that didn't have the pleasure of meeting you and what I got from both groups is that you'll never really leave me so long as I don't forget you. So as I do with everything important in my life I'll write about it. Except that as writing my post about you a few days back was excruciating. I decided to write to you. I'm torn about religion as you very well know. What I do know is that you believe. So then, I should believe you can read this. 

Karl turned 7 this year on your birthday! He had an amazing day and just as you might imagine we wished you a happy birthday as well. As we now prepare for our first Holiday season with your smiles and stolen pictures (because I know how much you hated taking them). I'll add that I really hope everyone can keep it together. My mom misses you so much. 

I hope this is the first of many letters. Although I'm sure I won't be sharing many others. 

Your loving grandson,

Jose 

Leave a Reply

