Challenge accepted #Reverb13 Day 5

Did you take on a new challenge?  What was it?  Is there are challenge you deliberately avoided? What do you want to do to challenge yourself in 2014? What was the greatest risk you took in 2013? What was the outcome? List out 5 things you do not want to forget from this past year.

This year went by with only a fraction of the races I did last year. All running events too. No triathlons or obstacle races. In 2014 I want to run at least one of each. If not the obstacle races then certainly the triathlons so that I get back on track to a fitness level that will allow me to complete a full Ironman race before my 35th birthday. I thinks that plausible timeline even with my 33rd birthday a little over tw0 months away. I have also considered adding one more marathon to my schedule than I ran in 2013. So 3 in 2014 calendar year. I might even consider becoming a marathon maniac. So once this is posted know that I’ll be looking up the requirements to earn that title.

The greatest risk I took was leaving my position at a steady company. I knew pretty early on during my time there that it was not a right fit. I decided that I would give myself 12 months because I wanted to make sure it wasn’t just me missing the “home life” I could very well have gotten accustomed too during the previous stint with unemployment. After 12 months I really appreciated what having a job meant and even with the uncertainty that loomed over me it was the only choice I had to make. As I type this I am glad to know I’ve got a job to do tomorrow. One that better fits my situation at home and that doesn’t make me feel like trash. I look forward to my job each morning and am excited about our future.

I don’t ever want to forget how crappy I allowed certain people to make me feel. I need to remember so I never allow it to ever get that far again. I ran two separate marathons, although 6 months apart it was 2 very different training plans. I want to remember the pain of the first one and let reminder get me out the door when I want to hit snooze one more time. I want to remember the summer at home with my wife and son as we anxiously awaited our daughter. It was the last few weeks of it being just the three of us and although we never officially got in baby moon it really brought us all closer together. I want to always remember the look on my sons face when he met his sister. I know they will have there differences and because of they’re age gap, may feel worlds apart and one day be physically separated when off at school and when life has them move on. Yet I hope I captured the love that moment showed me and that it helps them close those gaps when they arise. Finally I want to always remember to live every day in the moment. Planning for the future is wise but I can’t live tomorrow with out learning the lesson laid out today.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

