& many more on channel 4 #Reverb13 Day 6.

Blowing Out the Candles: You’re another year older!  How did you celebrate the passage of another year?  Did it turn out the way you had hoped? Which memories from this year do you wish to keep with you always?

“Do not regret getting older. It is a privilege denied to many.”

I turned 32 this year. It was a weekday. As my 8 year old just recently discovered it is not fun at all when it’s a weekday. Apparently he has major plans for the next time his birthday is on the weekend. I guess turning 11 is kind of a big deal. Well back to my birthday. It was a school night. My wife was still in the first trimester and so every smell was a toss up. She’d been craving lasagna and so we decided that we would try Bucca di Beppo.

K and I of course had a blast and he probably enjoyed the loud singing more than I did this year. I guess I was just very aware that I had plans for 32 that aren’t fully realized yet. That was short lived though because as I looked around and saw all the people over dressed and torn between speaking quietly and yelling over everyone else. I wondered how many of them would rather be in my place with my wife and son there, instead of a forced ritual on their Valentine’s Day. I mean how many other people get a pass like the one I get to skip Valentine’s Day because my wife makes that day all about me.

I journal quite a bit because truth be told I don’t want to forget anything. The good and what at the time seemed horribly bad or wrong. When I look back at different situations with the a clearer mind I’m always glad that I’m great at forward momentum and hardly let my days get down for too long. I’ve also take quite a bit of pictures. They really are memories frozen in time.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

