I’m not on a diet, I’m training #Reverb13 Day 11.

What just didn’t work out this year?  Is that okay with you?  Or are you going to try, try again? What challenges lie ahead in 2014? How might you meet them boldly? Did you form any new, or strengthen any existing, relationships in 2013?

I had been in awe of how much worked out this year that I hadn’t taken the time to really dwell on what didn’t work out. I suppose the one thing that didn’t work out was my totally being in control of my nutrition goals. You may have noticed I did not call it a diet or weigh loss because I’m not really interested in either. I don’t want to diet because I definitely need to fuel my ridiculously long runs. I way about 100 lb. less than I did at my heaviest so I’m not really concerned with losing much more weight but I do want to take my fitness to the next level if I’m going to meet my lofty goal of becoming an Ironman. When I look at the year as a whole though, I’m OK with it. I weigh less than I did at the beginning of the year and ultimately am very conscious of where I fell short.

In 2014 I will continue that slow progress and be OK with it being small “gains”. Now that my wife is no longer pregnant we’ve already made a few changes. We are also very aware of the little eyes “always looking up” at us. We have to change as a whole and not just a set of #’s for 2014. I am confident it will happen. It has to happen.

This year has been one of a lot of internal reflection. I’ve also noticed that it was very small as far as scope. Most of the time we travel wether it’s down south along the coast or inland to sin city. Always planning a trip to Hawaii or across the country. I also plan to one day visit the home of DA BEARS!! Not this year though. Other than my runs that had me running A LOT. We could have lived our entire year close to home. Our extended family came to visit more than they have in the past but overall it meant that our little trio (immediate family) really came a lot closer. I’ve love my wife since I was 17 but I don’t think even back then I could have imagined the true depth of how much that love has been strengthened.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

