Make or break a habit with me. #Reverb13 Day 17.

They say it takes 30 days to make or break a habit.  What did you start?  What did you quit? What word will you choose to guide you through 2014? What do you hope it will bring into your life? What was the bravest thing you did in 2013?

I’m actually a little bummed about this giving us 30 days as the mark to make or break a habit. I was under the impression that it was 21 days. So did I not really make (good habits) or break (bad habits). I guess now I’ll have to go with 30 because I’ll never think 21 is enough. If I had to pick now I’d say I’ve managed to start writing a lot more this year. What I didn’t do was post as much as I wanted to, to a blog. I did use 750words.com. It was easier to stay committed when I wasn’t pressured to share. I’d add that this daily Reverb project was going to be another 21 day challenge met but now I’ll have to make 30 days. As far as breaking a habit, I’ve really given up alcohol. I don’t think it was ever a problem but because of training I’ve gone months at a time with out even a cold beer. Of course even as I type that, it sounds more and more amazing.

I think I’ll choose STRUGGLE. I want next year to be amazing but I want to push myself out of any comfort I may have fallen into this year because nothing major shook me to the core. So next year whether it’s at work or just on a run. I will push until I’m struggling because only then will I get stronger as I grow both physically and emotionally. I hope it then has a ripple effect on the rest of my life depending on what area I push myself the most.

One thing that I will not have to repeat is my toughest choice and by default the bravest thing I did in 2013. See this previous post, for all the details.

 

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

