I’m not on a diet, I’m training! #Reverb13 Day 22.

What uphill battle did you keep fighting and fighting in 2013?  Are you going to keep fighting it or let it go?  Why?

Today was day 25 of a #RWrunstreak. The challenge is to run at least one mile a day from Thanksgiving to New Years Eve. I suppose it wouldn’t be that difficult but of course on most days I have to run more than a mile because I’m also training for my first marathon on 2014. The Los Angeles Marathon will take place on March 9th, 2014, yet training kicked off in October of 2013.

Today I ran 16 miles. It’s a pretty middle distance run for me. Not quite the 20 that I’ll run a few weeks before the big day but about 2/3 longer than I run on most days. Sundays also mean hills for me. Today for example my running partner and I ran uphill for the first 7 miles of our run. So I guess what I’m saying is that I know hills. They hurt but it’s the only way you grow stronger.

In life it seems no matter how miles I run, even the miles I log on the hills. I can’t seem to outrun my bad eating habits. Since getting home I’ve eaten a left over slice of pizza, tamales, cookies, coffee (with sugar) and then for a late lunch some Chicken Alfredo and even drank a beer. Now I’ll admit not every day is like that and on most days I do try and make conscious decisions about what I eat. After a day like this I feel like I have failed and I know that’s not the case after running 16 miles but again that’s my uphill battle. I think in 2014 I’ll finally make it to the summit and get my nutrition in check as well as reach my goals as far as weight. I know this will in turn mean PR’s to come. So I have to keep fighting.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

