I am a running fool and proud of it #Reverb13 Day 23

The race set out for you: Tell us about how you’ve been running along in 2013 and the race(s) you intend to run in 2014.  These can be literal races or just the road of life.  What did your path look like this year, and are you choosing the same for 2014?

“Life isn’t a sprint, it’s a marathon”  I couldn’t find who said that but I’m certain they had been out for a run or two. I ran at least 1000 miles in 2013. Actually even closer to 1200 since 100+ months happened several times.

I ran 2 marathons & 4 half marathons. Running didn’t start this year but it sure was a huge part of it. Days off only happened on Fridays and when life really “got in the way”. I’ll add that every missed mile this year was for joyous reasons and nothing like an injury or anything negative like has been the case in the past. Some of these races weren’t going to happened and then thanks to friends I ended up racing. I was running regardless. In the past I always needed a race to keep up the motivation.

2014 should look similar in # of races. Except hoping another one of those half marathons turns into a full for a total of 3 and 3. I hope to add at least 1 triathlon. I’m not sure of the distance I want to tackle just yet. This year I didn’t swim or bike as much as I set out to do because I was a running fool. I need to trust that I can run. If I bike and swim the fitness will be there and I’ll run just fine.

I need that same kind of trust in the momentum I have going on in life apart from running. When I was younger life as a Marine seemed like Sprint. Obviously now I’m living life more like a Marathoner and pacing myself so that I have some gas in the tank for that second half. The way I see it I’m still in the first half of the race. I can still afford to conserve some energy.

Leave a Reply

