I barely got up, somebody had a good laugh #Reverb13 Day 27

What was the funniest thing that happened this year?  Was it funny when it happened?  Or was it one of those things you laughed about later?

I fell. If you ask the wife, I fall a lot. I don’t think it’s that much but I sure fell this year. It was a short 4 mile run. So a very short maintenance run just to keep the blood flowing between long runs. I had it perfectly mapped. 1 1/2 mile by 1/2. I was just shy of 2 miles when I tripped on a an uneven part of the sidewalk. I was moving at quite a nice clip so bam you guessed it. I flew almost completely parallel to the ground before landing very hard on my water bottle. It knocked the wind out of me and it took what felt like an eternity to catch my breath.

It was long enough for me to really question how stupid it would be if I just killed myself during a run I believe will extend my life. Some dirty sidewalk in Van Nuys, CA and I didn’t even have my wallet with me. Can you imagine how long it would take for my family to find out and further more how sad to have survived a war only to die so close to home. All alone which is one of my biggest fears.

I finally caught my breath and rolled on to my back and stared at the sky before assessing the damage. I sat up and looked around for my phone i managed to throw over to the patch of grass closest to me. I dialed for G to pick me up because I couldn’t imagine continuing my run. Of course my luck: no answer. I hobbled around for a bit before hobbling the 2nd 2 home. My hip was killing me and I did run with a bit of pain for days after that.

It was hilarious as soon as I couldn’t feel anymore pain. G has teased me with the incident for months now. I really laugh at how terrified I was at the whole thing. Here’s to fall free running in 2014.

Leave a Reply

