Happy Birthday Marines #Reverb13 Day 28.

What moment in 2013 brought tears to your eyes?  Are you usually a crier?  Or did tearing up take you by surprise?

I’m definitely not a crier. In fact I’m usually trying to stop my wife from crying or just letting emotions overshadow what her message may be. Whether at work or even during arguments with me. I’m usually calm and collected except for one or two hot button issues.

That though went out the window on a morning in late October. I’m not really sure exactly what date. It was during the Marine Corps Birthday Message from the Commandant. I’m sure it was the images accompanying his voice over. Marines in garrison as well as those training for and in combat operations. I honestly can’t even really explained the feelings that came over me.

I do know that the tears were flowing from somewhere deep, deep inside. My Family was with in arms reach and my son quietly consoled me. I’m sure he’s probably only been witness to me anywhere near that distraught before, when my grandmother passed away. A little more than a year before hand. As I felt his hand on my arm and looked up I saw my wife holding my daughter and I was jerked back into reality and as much as I needed to see them I needed to be alone.

After what seemed like an eternity alone in the bedroom I didn’t even know how to return to my waiting family. I just walked out and after hugging me we went back to watching some other television and that was the last time that was brought up. I know now that it was probably the first time my son really got the idea about how I feel about my time in the Marine Corps. The truth is that it’s a whole lot of different ways and it will always be an important part of my life. As much as I’ve tried to move on from those years and all the things we saw and did it will always be somewhere deep inside.

Leave a Reply

