It Started w/ a Group Hug

Stroke of Midnight: Where were you last night when 2013 turned into 2014? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

New Year’s Eve really flew by us. Not unlike the rest of 2013. The day as a whole was pretty relaxed. I ran, and blogged but other than that didn’t really do much else. For the last couple of years we’ve simply stayed home and welcomed in the New Year just the three of us. Just like staying home was a decision to stray from the norm. So was the decision to go out this year.

I probably would have been content with visiting either set of grandparents. With my brother in law having just purchased a new home it was just natural that he’d host a NYE party. We didn’t get there until 8:30 pm. So already we close to saying good bye to 2013.

With less than 5 min to go and almost very unceremoniously I grabbed my immediate family. Wife, son, and my daughter and on an iPhone web tab found a countdown clock. My son counted down from about 20 seconds and just like that with almost everyone in the room disappearing we had one big group hug and I kissed my wife and wished her a Happy New Year!

We headed home just about an hour after that very powerful moment. I honestly could not have cared to be anywhere else in the world so long as those three beautiful people were in my arms. So as I wonder what 2014 will bring me I won’t plan to stay home on NYE or plan to be anywhere either. So long as we’re together.

Leave a Reply

