Let me guess, you want to know………

Let me guess, you want to know why I tried to kill myself.

Call Me Ishmael: Take the first sentence from your favorite book and make it the first sentence of your post.

Anyone who knows anything about me will tell you I’m always reading. I’ve really worked on just reading one book at a time because it got to a point where I was reading 2 or 3 books at a time. After the baby was born the lack of sleep was making it hard to keep all the characters straight.

So the “first line of my favorite book” no way. There’d be too many and I’d end up with list, ugh! So what I’ll do is give you the first line of the book I’m currently reading.

“Let me guess, you want to know why I tried to kill myself.”

I’m currently reading “for one more day” by Mitch Albom of Tuesdays with Morrie fame. I of course read Tuesdays with Morrie and wouldn’t call it earth shattering but did enjoy reading it. I wouldn’t necessarily search for Mitch Albom books because of it. In fact truth be told I found this on one of many trips to goodwill I make to find books when my queue is running low.

I like everyone else do judge books by their covers. You know you can’t help it. Thanks to that very adage though I try and open books and scan a few pages. Usually try and read the first few lines as well. As you might imagine after reading the first line of this book I was hooked and though the $1.99 price tag was of course perfect.

I’ve only gotten through the first 100 pages and of course I still don’t know why this guy thought it was the end but I’ve learned a lot about him and his relationship with his parents. In the interest of full disclosure I’ll add that I always find parallels between the books I’m reading and life at the moment. I think the universe provides exactly what I should be reading at any given time.

No I’m not at any kind of ropes end where I might think ending it all is the only answer. I will say thought that I’m at a bit of a crossroads with my parents. I read (somewhere else, not this book) that we all have a moment when were realize that our own paths are not necessarily in line with our parents and that it can be debilitating. Is this where I am now? Or am I making more than I should of a less than important situation.

It does not help that the holidays are now over and we just go right back into the routine of things. Or its that the best answer to this situation?

Anyway, believe me I can’t wait to here why this guy killed himself in the mean time I’m learning a lot about his parents. Anyone read this yet or interested in me telling you what happens once I’m done reading?

_____

zerotohero update: I’ve followed a few more blogs and topics. It’s amazing how many bloggers are out there that want to be heard just like me.

5 Comments

  1. Great post, I really should get back to reading (non-school-related books). I’m not a huge fan of Melville, but I do love the final paragraph of Moby Dick. (Before the Epilogue.) It’s a haunting image, very symbolic. I actually wrote it down in my journal because I loved it so much.

  2. I do the exact same thing, find a nice cover, read the first page, if I want to read more I buy it. Sometimes I cheat and read the last page too, it is a bad habit I know and I haven’t done it in a while. And yes it is funny how sometimes books parallel our lives, it is also kinda wonderful though.

    Anyways, I dig your title and text widget. I don’t think the widget need to be more prominent. I couldn’t find your tagline though.

    Great post by the way! I look forward to reading more 🙂

  3. ha, I’m glad I’m not alone. I think that’s when a book is an instant classic and will find a special place in my heart. It obviously has a lot of competition in my head. (I read a lot)

    I just realized the theme I’m using doesn’t show the tag line. It’s actually “The way I see it…”

Leave a Reply

