Dark place exists, I can no longer stay

Helplessness: that dull, sick feeling of not being the one at the reins. When did you last feel like that –- and what did you do about it?

sadly as positive as I try and be about things I often feel helpless. It’s usually when I’m exhausted. Maybe a few days of very little sleep. I sleep well on nights after days that I work out so I’ve tried to make that a habit. On days that I don’t do anything active it takes for ever to fall asleep. On those days I guess I let the pace slow down to much and the negativity catches up with me.

i usually let it hang around for a few minutes an hour at most because I can appreciate how sad I can get and makes the happy moments in my life worth living/feeling.

Another thing I’ve learned helps is going back through pictures I’ve taken of my family. My wife, son and now daughter. I’m instantly transported to the moment I took that picture along with the feelings of the day. The moment leading up to the picture and how glad I was I got the right shot and what I did the rest of the day. I share pictures on FB or instagram and well that’s always easily accessible.

One picture that always makes me feel better I took a couple years back already. My son has since grown up a lot but the innocence and anticipation I captured in that picture will forever be with me. I can’t ever let my helplessness win/take over because he needs more than that.

Waiting

A post shared by Jose Callejas (@callejas214) on

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

