Social roles limit us in all sorts of ways

32 flavors: Vanilla, chocolate, or something else entirely?

It’s Friday night. I think I’m starting to see shit. I didn’t get much sleep last night because after 5 months of fairly regular sleeping patterns K(2) decided she needed to stay up late. The wife and I figured we really threw her internal clock up with all the holiday festivities.

Even as I right this I think what really happened is that now I’m the one that won’t get some sleep. There’s only an hour left to “today” and I’m no where near falling asleep. I’m certainly going to pay for this tomorrow morning right around mile 6 of a 9 mile run. I just know it.

What I do know is that I want some ice cream now. Thanks a lot daily post. It will be strawberry of that I’m certain. Oddly enough I have no problems now about ordering strawberry. Yes that does suggest that at one point I would only get the strawberry ice cream or strawberry shake when the wife was around. I hated that. It took a while but now I make sure that’s exactly what I order.

I think a lot of it has to do with what I want to be OK for my son to do. I don’t ever want anyone but him to define who he is. It’s the same way now when I think of my daughter being told she can’t do this or that.

Well enough ranting for tonight. What I won’t allow them to do is mess too badly with my sleep. I have to get it when it comes. It’s not always easy to get in the first place unless I’ve ran some “crazy” amount of miles during the day.

#runstreak update : Day 44. I’m so excited that I’m certain I’ll reach day 50. I’ve come to far to stop now.

Leave a Reply

