3, 2, 1, Go!!!!!………

My life is far, far from perfect!

I will say that as was evident in my very first #reverb post this year. If you really take a moment to think about your day, there is something to be happy about no matter what you may be going through. (Precisely why I love this project, it’s easy to get down on your self this time of year.)

Today the wonderful Kat McNally specifically asks us to do just that. By simply asking reminding me that it’s easy to put off loving our life until it’s perfect. (That obviously is probably impossible, at least for this guy.) So what then do I love about my life right NOW?

As I often do, I start these entries by writing in my journal. I started writing and well when concentrating on what I love the list is quite lengthy and I felt a lot better about the things that are wrong or just not at a place I love yet. (It does not fix them, but it really puts it into perspective)

So what part of my life am I in love with right NOW: My decision to finally pull the trigger per say on my Crossfit journey. I may give you a different response when I’m actually “cleaning” or halfway through an un godly amount of burpees.

Overall though it’s helped me bounce back from a crappy/non active summer (see broken foot post). I was in a cast for 14 weeks, add more beer in those 3 months than I’ve probably drank in the last 5 years and I quickly put on a lot of “baby weight”. I won’t mention where I started but I’ll say that I went from running a marathon to my heaviest in (and I got back to) 5 years. Needless to say my first day of Crossfit was a horrible shock to my system but I knew from my days in my beloved Marine Corps that it’s exactly what was missing and what would compliment all my running.

Here I am 3 months later. My weight is not where I want to be YET, but heading in the right direction and quickly. I haven’t really felt like drinking with that next WOD always waiting for me. (i might have really wanted one after a few WOD’s though.) I’m stronger and aside from being sore every so often I feel amazing. Again except when actually performing burpees.

I love this because it’s only been three months. I’m looking forward to 2015 when I can look back on an entire year of WODS. (and an LA Marathon after 6 months of being a Dark Horse athlete)

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

